AmeriCorps Works: Look Out for Emerging Young Leader Janet Namkung

“As I grow in my professional field, I look back to what I did in different situations and the difficult decisions I had to make. I find myself utilizing many of the skills I learned during my service year.”

janet 4

Earth 5 Team Photo at the Garden Place Academy in Denver, CO. 2013 -2014 AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corporation Team Leader, Janet is featured in the front in the green Team Leader shirt, with her team behind her.

Where are you originally from?

“New York City!”

When was your service term?

 August 2013 to July 2014

 

janet 2
A PT, otherwise known as personal training outing to the St. Mary’s Glacier in Colorado. Janet is featured on the far left with other AmeriCorps NCCC Team Leaders.

Why did you choose to do an AmeriCorps term?

 “My Undergraduate Adviser was an AmeriCorps NCCC and City Year Alum. We had built a very strong mentor mentee relationship in my time at College. He recommended the program to me as I was looking for something to do after graduating.”

What AmeriCorps program did you serve with?

 “I served as an AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corps Team Leader in the Southwest Region of the Denver Campus.”

What was the most memorable lesson you learned from your service term?

“During my service year with NCCC, I was able to improve my leadership style and really understood what it meant to work with different personalities and being able to take a step back. This is definitely something I am still working on, but my experiences in NCCC really helped me shape my leadership style.”

Would you recommend others to choose AmeriCorps, or your particular program, why or why not?

“Absolutely! It will be the greatest and hardest year of your life. The program really changes who you are and your outlook of the world.”

Janet

AmeriCorps NCCC Team Leader Janet is going through Team Leader training. She is seen in this photo with full on PPE, otherwise known as personal protective equipment required of all AmeriCorps members, when operating a chainsaw. She is seen in her orange chaps, hard helmet, gloves, eye gear with an chainsaw in hand for Chainsaw Training in the Rocky Mountains!

What do you do today?

 “I am the Membership and Development Manager for the Council of Korean Americans. It is a nonprofit organization of successful Korean American Leaders.”

 

How has AmeriCorps impacted your life today?

 “As I grow in my professional field, I look back to what I did in different situations and the difficult decisions I had to make. I find myself utilizing many of the skills I learned during my service year.”

janet 3

Class Photo with 5th Grade Class at the Garden Place Academy in Denver, CO.  Janet is featured in the AmeriCorps NCCC green Team Leader hoodie, making a silly face with students!

 

Leave a Reply

