One Way Flight to AmeriCorps: On Board Lifetime of Service for Danielle Wohlenberg

 

“I am so glad that I answered the call to join, and that within 4 days of receiving that call I was on a plane traveling across the country for this once in a lifetime experience.” – DC AmeriCorps Alum, Danielle Wohlenberg

Danny 1

danny 3

Where is your hometown located?

 Patchogue NY

What AmeriCorps service terms did you do?

AmeriCorps NCCC class 17 2010-2011, AmeriCorps VISTA 2012-2013

How or from who did you hear about AmeriCorps and why did you choose to do AmeriCorps terms of service?

“I first learned about AmeriCorps from a Youth and Community Services Leader when I was in high school. Since I discovered it’s existence I gave myself the goal of joining after I completed my Bachelors degree. I thought that this program would be a great way for me to continue doing the service work that I began in school, and meet others with a similar passion.”

danny 5

 

Can you describe service term?

“AmeriCorps National Civilian Community Corporation I was based in Denver, Colorado in the southwest region. I had spike rounds in Louisiana, Arizona, Arkansas, and southern Colorado. As a VISTA I was with Habitat for Humanity of Suffolk in NY.”

 

danny 2

What was the most impactful experience and/or lesson you learned by your service term(s) and why?

I learned that I am stronger, braver and more flexible then I thought I was. Before AmeriCorps I would never have pictured myself camping for two months in the winter, using power tools, voluntarily speaking in front of large groups, or accomplishing so many tasks in such short periods of time. I am so glad that I answered the call to join, and that within 4 days of receiving that call I was on a plane traveling across the country for this once in a lifetime experience.”

Would you recommend others to choose AmeriCorps, or your particular program, why or why not?

I can not encourage people enough to join AmeriCorps. I would love to see all Americans experience a year of service, and become exposed to parts of America that they haven’t seen before.

What do you to today?

I am an Associate at the American Red Cross.

How has AmeriCorps impacted your life today? (i.e. job, purpose and etc.)

I am eternally grateful for the opportunity to serve with both AmeriCorps NCCC and VISTA. While traveling the United States with AmeriCorps I witnessed the amazing diversity of our country, and was exposed to an array of issues that I had been previously unaware of. I also grew as an individual, and learned about my own capacity to accomplish physical, mental and educational goals.

danny 4

Leave a Reply

