Lindsey Foss Career Path Rooted in Service Learning

“My AmeriCorps year was the first time in my life that I was forced to confront racism and how it impacts our country and each of our lives. As a white woman, I am so grateful that I had the chance to learn and continue from my AmeriCorps year on a journey to work towards racial justice.”

Where are you from?

I currently live in Washington D.C. and I am originally from North Carolina.

What AmeriCorps program did you serve with?

 I served in Episcopal Service Corps located in Washington D.C. from 2009 to 2010.

How did you hear about AmeriCorps?

“My college roommate told me about it. To be completely honest, I graduated at the start of the great recession and needed a job to survive. I was grateful to have been able to have the opportunity to work in a professional position where I gained valuable skills rather than work an unrelated job.”

Can you describe your service term?

“I taught at YouthBuild, a General Education Diploma program for young adults.”

youth build
The official YouthBuild logo! More information about YouthBuild can be found here!

What was the most impactful lesson you learned by your service term and why?

My AmeriCorps year was the first time in my life that I was forced to confront racism and how it impacts our country and each of our lives. As a white woman, I am so grateful that I had the chance to learn and continue from my AmeriCorps year on a journey to work towards racial justice.

Would you recommend others to choose AmeriCorps, or your particular program, why or why not?

“Yes! AmeriCorps allowed me to develop the skills and network to move into a career and not just a job. Without my program I would not have had the opportunity to find my passion and grow into a career.”

career path

TODAY: What do you do today?

“I am currently a, school based therapist and couple and family therapy private practice owner.”

How has AmeriCorps impacted your life today?

“It led to my career, finding my passion, creating life long friends, and setting me on a life long path of growth. It gave me courage to challenge myself in ways I didn’t think possible.”

Leave a Reply

